Gold hammer and sickle

New Communist Party of Britain

Statement of Communist and Workers’ Parties from EU countries about the 5th EU-LAC summit

On 16—17 May 2008 the fifth European Union-Latin America and Caribbean (EU-LAC) Summit will be held in Lima, Peru.

The objectives of the European Union have nothing to do with combating poverty and social inequalities, or with promoting the environment — benevolent policies as they claim. It seeks to open up the economies of these countries to exploitation, demanding the privatisation of state industries and natural resources, even water, for the benefit of the monopoly capital. It is an illusion to see it as a counterweight to the United States, in favour of the peoples: on the contrary, it has the same imperialist and neo-colonial goals.

With the Lisbon Treaty, new steps are being taken towards configuring the European Union as an economic, political and military bloc, a pillar of the world order of imperialism today, contrary to the interests of workers and the peoples. The sovereignty and independence of peoples and countries are being further undermined. Under the guidelines of the “Lisbon Strategy,” the attack on labour and trade union rights is being stepped up in the name of “modernisation,” “competitiveness,” and “security,” in order to ensure the profits of capital.

The European Union in its relations with Latin America and the Caribbean aims

The EU-LAC “strategic partnership” runs contrary to the interests of the peoples in both continents.

Along with mass popular resistance and opposition to the EU policies, working people throughout Europe express concern about the aggressiveness of the European Union towards the countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

The solidarity with the peoples of Latin America and the Caribbean and the opposition to the policies of the European Union and its attempts to impose unjust free-trade agreements are integral parts of our struggle for a Europe of equal co-operation, of social and economic progress, of peace, in opposition to the process of European capitalist integration.

Our parties

The Parties

  1. Workers’ Party of Belgium
  2. Communist Party of Britain
  3. New Communist Party of Britain
  4. Party of the Bulgarian Communists
  5. Communist Party of Bohemia and Moravia
  6. Communist Party in Denmark
  7. Communist Party of Denmark
  8. Communist Party of finland
  9. Hungarian Communist Workers’ Party
  10. German Communist Party
  11. Communist Party of Greece
  12. Communist Party of Ireland
  13. Workers’ Party of Ireland
  14. Party of the Italian Communists
  15. Socialist Party of Latvia
  16. Socialist Party of Lithuania
  17. Communist Party of Luxembourg
  18. Communist Party of Malta
  19. New Communist Party of the Netherlands
  20. Communist Party of Poland
  21. Portuguese Communist Party
  22. Communist Party of the Peoples of Spain

The Communist Party of Norway, Palestinian Communist Party, Socialist Workers` Party of Croatia (not EU countries) have also extended their support to the statement.

13th May 2008